The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 16, 2009, 09:38 PM   #1
Oregon John

Die Cleaning & Maintenance - Lee Rife Dies

I am new to reloading. I'd like to know what you do about cleaning new dies, and what you do about oiling (?) or other types of die maintenance.

Should I clean the new dies with break degreaser? If so, do I oil them after use? What procedure would you recommend.

I have the Deluxe Rife Die set neck sizing die for the .223 and for the .243. It has a carbine neck sizing die, which states that case lube is not necessary. Is that true?

Thanks for any information.

John
Old January 16, 2009, 10:17 PM   #2
jckeffer

After reloading more than 50 cartridges I do clean my dies and brake cleaner does work quite well. I also use a cloth buffing wheel on my dremel with a little polishing compound to really give the insides a mirror finish. I don't have any hard evidence that this improves the performance of the dies but they do seem to operate a little more smoothly, especially the carbide dies. As hard as the dies are I don"t believe I one could ever changed the shape by polishing. I clean and dry them after polishing , oil lightly and wipe off as much of the oil as humanly posible.

Carbide dies do not require lube though I've only had experience with pistol cartridge carbide dies. Using lube on these dies can result in deformed cases.

I also know from experience that if you don't clean your dies occasionally you will eventually run into probelms such as case scoring and even denting. Grit and dust will adhere to the lube and create deep scratches on the case walls. Too much lube can cause case deformation.
Old January 16, 2009, 10:27 PM   #3
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

+1 for lightly polishing for easier use