The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old April 9, 2014, 12:15 PM   #1
bushmaster65

making wooden grips

anybody out there have any info on how to go about making wooden grips for the BP pistols? I'm an amateur woodworker but have not strayed to far from my power tools into the hand tool side yet. So are there any jigs or special instructional info out there?

Bushmaster
Old April 9, 2014, 07:16 PM   #2
PetahW

It depends upon the BP pistol.

Some designs (Colts, for one) use a one-piece grip inletted for the gripframe/backstrap & mainspring; others use two-piece grips connected via a screw through the middle of the gripframe.

The outside shape depends entirely upon the desires of the maker, or the gun owner ordering the grip(s).

Except for ensuring the inside surfaces of two-piece grips are flat, so they lie flat on the sides of the gripframe, it's mostly handwork, with an eye toward the correct proportions/shape(s).

IOW - no "easy" button.

Old April 9, 2014, 07:26 PM   #3
ammo.crafter

Try Browning Hi Power forum and also the woodworker's wed site.

For exotic wood try purchasing knife blanks on Ebay.
Old April 10, 2014, 08:59 AM   #4
bedbugbilly

To begin with, use your frame for a pattern. On the Remington that has "slab grips" - this is pretty easy to do - just remove the grip screws and remove grips - if the existing grips fit well (profile wise) - use them for the pattern to draw around. Cut outside the line to allow for final fitting to the frame. On frames that have slab grips and have a "locating pin" - the pin can usually be tapped out. After you fit the grip to the frame - clamp in place and "blind drill" the hole for the locating pin using the pin hole in the frame. Don't go too deep or you'll go through your new grip!