The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 27, 2010, 02:19 PM   #1
BigJimP

Do You "Blink" as you fire a shotgun

I've been shooting clay targets for 40+ yrs -- and handguns, and hunting big game and birds for a long time as well ...I was never rated above class B in sporting clays or any other clay target game / just a "club shooter" for the most part ...but

I went thru an extensive defensive handgun training for 3 days last week --and one thing the instructor was trying to work with me, and others, is to try and keep your eyes open after you pull the trigger ....and not blink ...in his opinion, if you can shoot without blinking ....you can track the sights better, and shoot faster and more accurately ...and if you do blink, its the start of a flinch ( maybe because I shoot too much at in-door ranges especially for handguns twice a week ... and not blinking did make a difference ...

Instructor was no shotgunner ...but I'm wondering if my misses on a Skeet field ( like dropping low 8 two weeks ago, for a 24 instead of a 25 ) ...might be because I'm blinking sometimes, or maybe often, as I fire a shell ??

Opinions - on whether you blink as you fire a shotgun ? Do you even know if you do ? ( you'd have to have someone stand beside you and look at your eyes ) ... What do some of the big name shooters / instructors say about "hard focus" - or more specifically "not blinking" ...as you shoot Sporting or Skeet, etc ...

Any "tricks" on "Not Blinking" ? ( open your eyes like an Owl or something ) ...

I appreciate your thoughts ...
Old August 27, 2010, 02:46 PM   #2
the rifleer