The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old February 19, 2010, 06:17 PM   #1
Clark500

Yugo SKS and corrosive ammo

I am contemplating the purchase of a Yugo M59/66. I only have shooters in my collection, and the more range time the better. Therefore, cheap ammo is a must for me. I have narrowed the ammo choices to 2: brass milsurp and laquered steel. I would prefer the brass, but I know it is corrosive. I have plenty of experience with cleaning after corrosive ammo in bolt guns, but I am a little concerned with cleaning the gas system on an SKS. Does this even pose a problem? I know these weapons have probably had thousands of rounds of corrosive ammo through them already, so am I being overly cautious? Does anybody have any M59 cleaning tips they would care to share?
Old February 19, 2010, 07:43 PM   #2
Tom2

There is no good reason to buy brass cased corrosive for an SKS anyway. Unless it is dramatically cheaper than the current steel cased stuff. You are not gonna be able to re use the brass cases except for scrap metal salvage. The SKS is designed to shoot the steel stuff OK. Not a problem unless you let the chamber get all crudded up with impacted laquer or other foreign residues. As for cleaning the Yugo, with that complicated grenade launcher stuff, the gas valve system is often a victim of a history of corrosive ammo and insufficient cleaning by previous users. The hassle of cleaning it up should be justified by a great savings in ammo costs if you are buying bulk. If you are not gonna shoot tons of ammo thru it, then I would pay a bit more for non corr. ammo up front. I shoot corrosive from MN rifles but only because it is mostly readily available as compared to anything noncorr. and cleaning a bolt gun is alot easier than taking apart that SKS each time to insure no hidden damages.
Old February 19, 2010, 08:44 PM   #3
Clark500