The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 24, 2012, 01:48 PM   #1
Prof Young

What a difference a load makes.

Loaders:
So even though I've been doing this reloading thing for a couple of years now, there is still so much to learn.

When I first started I pretty much did the minimum recommended load of powder figuring it to be enough and to be very safe. And for the most part that was okay until I had a couple of scary squibs.

So then I started loading closer to the max. I really noticed the difference in shooting my 44 mag. Pow went to BLAM!

Today I was breaking in a brand new Beretta FS92. I had two batches of self loaded ammo. One was pretty close to minimum and the other closer to max. Well the min loads kept stove piping and jamming. At first I thought I'd got a lemon of a gun. However the hotter load ran through it like butter. Really like the gun.

Until recently I didn't really keep track of what powder I'd used etc. It was all by the formulas, but I just didn't keep records. That is changing too.

I think I need to learn more about powders. Will reread that section in the Lee book on reloading. Some of the info.I read when I first started reloading didn't make as much sense as it might now as now I have a much better context from with to learn.

Merry Christmas to every one.

Live well, be safe.
Prof Young
Old December 24, 2012, 02:15 PM   #2
Misssissippi Dave