The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 1, 2005, 01:03 PM   #1
Porkchops

What skills are most essential?

I'm new to guns--just got my first less than a week ago (Sig P229).

Aside from being able to shoot straight, what would you put as your top 5 to 10 must-acquire life skills with a handgun, and how would you go about practicing them?

These can be anything from fundamentals to tactical skills. I'm working on the fundamentals I learned in the NRA Basic Pistol course.
Old June 1, 2005, 01:15 PM   #2
S.E.R.T.SGT

Give you my number one and let everyone else fill in the next ones:

1.) Gun SAFETY Gun SAFETY Gun SAFETY

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lighting they
Do not go gently into that good night.

Dylan Thomas

S.E.R.T.SGT
Old June 1, 2005, 01:22 PM   #3
45 Fu

Here are mine, all of equal importance - if you reove one, the others crumble:

Mindset, marksmanship, morals.

Mindset: You must decide that, if you are going to be armed, you are going to take an active part in your defense. The will to train, practice, strategy, and tactics (as much as I'm loathe to use the "T" word) all fit under mindset.

Marksmanship: Possessing the skills that enable you to shoot well under a wide variety of conditions. Sight alignment/trigger control is the foundation of marksmanship.

Morals: Handling, carrying, using, and shooting your weapon in a responsible manner. This means not showing off/brandishing, being sure of your target and what lies beyond it, trying to avoid trouble instead of seeking it out, doing your absolute best to do no harm in any way unless you are forced to by the actions of others. Practicing enough so that you are proficient with whatever weapon(s) you have, not just what you carry.

All these skills are essential. How you go about sharpening these skills is up to you. None is less or more important than the other.