The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 16, 2009, 11:24 AM   #1
shawnt97

LT-308 problem

Ok, I'm new to reloading and have ran into an issue on reloading for my DPMS Tac-20. I'm using RCBS short base dies on a Lee classic press. About 1/3 of my reloads stick in the chamber. It's so bad I have to pull and hold charging handle back and slam butt of the rifle on the ground to send the bolt back. Charging handle is held back to prevent bolt from going forward and lodging again. Bolt seems to be just shy of seating all the way. I just have a hard time figuring out why it's about 1 in 3 that do this. I like to think I'm pretty consistent in my reloading process. Any ideas guys?
Old November 16, 2009, 11:51 AM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

A couple of other members have had this problem with cases not fired in their guns originally. Were these fired in your gun originally?
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old November 16, 2009, 12:26 PM   #3
rottieman33

Friend of mine has a colt ar-15 .223 cal he read that you need to keep the action on that well lubed. If it is dry you maybe binding up the bolt when it gets hot. As he told me it needs to look wet.
Old November 16, 2009, 01:53 PM   #4
Winterhawk56

I agree with rottieman33 about lub of the bolt! the bolt should have an oil film visible but on another note I would check the following;

1. Measure the chamber and ensure your bullet is seated deep enough in the case and not touching the throat.

2. Is your die correct as I have had some issues with the re-size die in the past. Granted minimal but an issue non the less. My RCBS resize die for my .308 was off just a few 1000's at the shoulder and caused a tight fit. My resolution was once they were fired (in that gun) I neck sized only. Also bought another set of dies.