The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 18, 2010, 07:30 AM   #1
gaseousclay

hunting etiquette and other info

I haven't gone hunting yet since i'm pretty new to rifles and shotguns, so I was wondering if there was an unwritten hunter's code or some form of etiquette that most of you abide by when out in the field? I haven't taken a hunter safety course yet, so i'm not sure if the following topics are covered.

for example:

- do you hunt alone? in pairs? three or more?

- is your firearm supposed to be unloaded until you actually spot an animal you plan on shooting? are you supposed to keep the action open or do you chamber 1 round just in case?

- after shooting a deer, do most of you transport it back to your place and dress it there, or do you field dress it immediately? if it's the former, how the hell do you transport such a heavy load?

- i'm assuming most hunters identify themselves to other hunters, even if it's apparant from the way they're dressed.

- what do you do if you or your hunting buddy are injured and are far from a populated area? I don't trust cell phone reception in rural areas so I can't vouch for their trustworthiness.

if there's any other bits of info you think is pertinent to this thread, please feel free to mention it here.
Old October 18, 2010, 08:10 AM   #2
Rifleman1776

Your questions would take volumes to answer.
Do try to take the hunter safety course and/or find an experienced hunter to buddy up with.
Old October 18, 2010, 09:48 AM   #3
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

All of the above. Depends on who's in camp during any particular hunt. I may be somewhat uncommon in that I've hunted solo in areas above tens of thousands of acres, 20 miles from pavement.

- is your firearm supposed to be unloaded until you actually spot an animal you plan on shooting? are you supposed to keep the action open or do you chamber 1 round just in case?