The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 8, 2013, 03:56 PM   #1
ac700wildcat

Time for a new powder thrower

I'm looking to buy a new powder thrower specifically for handgun cartridges. I have an RCBS Chargemaster that is great for loading rifle charges, but is just to slow when I'm loading handgun ammo. So what is my best bet for a well built and consistent powder thrower?
Old August 8, 2013, 04:05 PM   #2
jepp2

You didn't define your price range. I have had the Redding 3BR for a couple of decades (with both the rifle and pistol metering chambers) and have never been disappointed. If you are just going to use it for handgun, then this is what you would need.

I had a Lyman 55 before I got the Redding but never was happy with it. But I really think it was more my fault than the measures. With the 3 different adjustments, I didn't use the right one when I should have. But I think a lot of folks like the Lyman.

All my handgun loads gets metered with the Dillon measures. After some improvements (disable the fail safe and run with a spring like the old days) and polishing the aluminum cone, they are very accurate.
Old August 8, 2013, 05:21 PM   #3
noylj

Well, my CM keeps up with me and my Dillon 1050s, so I have no idea why your CM is so slow.
Do you want a bench-mount measure? I find the Lee Perfect Powder Measure is the most consistent. I put a sheet of paper under it to pick up any leaking powder. The Hornady is the next most consistent of all the measure I have used. Beyond that, they are all OK and you can spend as much money as you want.
Do you want a press-mounted case-activated powder measure? Then get the Hornady or Dillon measures and the cartridge/caliber specific powder-through expanders.
Otherwise, contact RCBS for programming instructions so your CM can dispense small charges faster.
Old August 8, 2013, 06:02 PM   #4
ac700wildcat