The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 13, 2012, 07:01 PM   #1
nodule

trap, skeet or clay sports for beginner?

Hi,

I am experienced with handguns, as I own 3, but a total beginner to shotguns.

I was wondering which of the disciplines is the most fun and easiest to learn
for a total novice.....Trap, Skeet or Clay Sports?

Also, which style shotgun is the most popular for a beginner and these sports....,pump? semi auto? or over-under?

Thanks
Old February 13, 2012, 07:31 PM   #2
oneounceload

Easiest to learn? Trap followed by skeet, then sporting clays
The over under rules in most games, but be forewarned, those cheap Soegers and similar are NOT the ones being used.
For someone new, a nicely used Beretta semi will work for the interim.

Go to your local gun club, and try them all, explaining your newbieness, and ask for help, to try guns, and have a great time.

Good luck!
Old February 13, 2012, 07:39 PM   #3
Virginian

Okay, this is pure opinion.
A pump gun will work fine for trap singles. A semi auto will too but you will need a shell deflector or stop so you don't pelt the others with your empties. A gun really made for trap will print the pattern high, because all the targets are rising, and is less adaptable to the other games or the field. I am sure someone will tell you they shoot everything with their trap gun, but it is not ideal.
A field gun will work well for skeet or sporting clays, in fact many skeet guns have the same dimensions as the field guns. A gas operated semi auto will serve you well and help to reduce recoil. A good used Remington 1100 or Beretta will work fine, and if you take decent care of it you shouldn't lose a dime if you decide to switch to something else later.