The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 14, 2009, 08:57 AM   #1
J A

Tumbler questions

I want to buy a tumbler for my pistol brass. I have decided to buy one with some input from you good and knowledgable shooters. After looking on Midway's website the Lyman looks to be the better unit. What do you have or recommend? I have about 500 .45acp to clean up.
What media would you recommend also? Thanks for the help. Jim
Old June 14, 2009, 10:45 AM   #2
MADISON

Tumbler coment

I have a LYMAN 1200 that I have been using for almost 20 years.
With any tumbler, the electric motor is the "thing" that kills a tumbler.
Some motors last days--Mine has lasted for years!
Old June 14, 2009, 10:53 AM   #3
ammo.crafter

media

walnuts or corn cobs seem to work just fune
Old June 14, 2009, 11:21 AM   #4
Reidman

RCBS tumbler and walnut media for coarse cleaning and corn cob if you want them to shine.

You'll get a variety of answers on this one. Check out MidwayUSA and read some reviews and you'll see what I'm talking about.

I got RCBS because it was at the shop when I wanted one. It has been solid and works like a champ. Regardless of what brand you get you'll love it
Old June 14, 2009, 12:28 PM   #5
CortJestir

I find the Cabela's Tumbler Kit to be a very good value. It comes with corn cob media, polisher, tumbler, and media separator -- all for around $60.
Old June 14, 2009, 12:32 PM   #6
Seedtick

I picked up a Lyman 1200 with Auto-Flo a few weeks ago and I am tickled with it. I'm glad I went ahead and got the auto-flo. It is nice to just pull the plug and let all the media run out. After the media runs out I stir the brass around with my hand for a few seconds to completely empty the cases then there is nothing left in the bowl but shiny clean brass. NICE!