The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 10, 2011, 09:38 AM   #1
thunderbird101

Understanding Scopes for Newbie

I will admit, I am a complete Newbie when it comes to scopes! I have an SKS that I will be using for deer hunting and I want to put a scope on it.

-can someone explain what the numbers on the scope represent? For instance, I found 1 scope online labeled as
3-9x42 NcSTAR Compact Rifle Scope

-I was told that the amount of light that the scope allows in is VERY important, especially at dusk. How can I tell how much light the scope allows in? I'm guessing it has to do w/ those numbers above?

-Can anyone recommend a decent/relatively cheap scope for the SKS for deer hunting?

Thanks a LOT!!!!
Old October 10, 2011, 09:47 AM   #2
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

3X = magnification of 3:1 over the nekkid eyebone. 9X = nine times one's eyeball power.

42 is the diameter in millimeters of the objective lens. That's the one at the front of the scope.

Eatman family experience is that 3X and 4X is adequate magnification on out to 450 and 500 yards on Bambi, which is way beyond the practical use of the 7.62x39 cartridge.

I would suggest something like the Weaver K4 or equivalent for an SKS. I've yet to have a problem with a used scope from a gunshow or trade-in at a gunshop. If you look "wrongways" through the scope, you can see any chips or other breakage inside. And, it's common that it's merely a trade for a fancier scope, not because of problems.

I know from nothing about mounting kits for the SKS. However, I suggest sighting in for the bullet to hit about two inches high at 100 yards, and generally limit my shots to around 150 yards.
Old October 10, 2011, 10:32 PM   #3
Buzzcook

The amount of light gathering ability the scope has is not "very" important. A 40mm objective would be enough for the vast majority of cases.
I get by with a 38mm objective and many do fine with smaller scopes.