The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 27, 2008, 09:41 PM   #1
Blondie

Co-ax or Dillon Precision

Well, I am about ready to take the plunge and invest in some reloading equipment. I have never done this before, but have found some good info on TFL and some good videos on you tube.

I am thinking about either getting the Forster Co-ax (single stage) or the Dillon 550 or 650 (progressive). I do beleive I could start with a progressive press, however I don't know if the volume I shoot would require it. The calibers I have are:

Rifles: .270, 30-06, .223, 30-30, .300 win mag
Pistol: .44 magnum, 9mm, 10mm, .357 magnum, .50 active express

Is it possible to reload all of these calibers with one press, assuming you have the proper dies? If not, it may be that I only reload the .223, 44 mag, and .50ae (i.e., the higher volume .223 and the more expensive 44 and 50).

Thanks,

Blondie
Old July 27, 2008, 10:01 PM   #2
DoctorXring

Co-Ax

I would get a Forester Co-Ax and never look back.

Get a progressive next. I would strongly consider
a Hornady Lock and Load AP when that time comes.

I've had a Dillon 550 and now have a LnL AP.

Don't do what I did and wait 20 years to get a Co-Ax.
A joy to use and it produces precision quality rifle ammunition
due to it's design.

dxr

Old July 28, 2008, 01:30 AM   #3
WESHOOT2

pressing subject

I have a Co-Ax on my research bench (7.5" to the right of a LEE Reloader w/mounted-on-Lyman-'M'-dies Hornady/Pacific powder measure, across from my Lyman Crusher II).
My XL650 is on my main bench.

Knowing what I know now I'd buy the Co-Ax first, unless high volume shooting is planned.
I'd also buy a cheap LEE to sit 7--8" to its left.

Ensure (call and ask) that all the cartridges you wish to reload have dies that fit the Co-Ax......
Old July 28, 2008, 06:38 AM   #4
VaFisher

I have the co-ax myself and could not agree more with above post's.