The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 18, 2023, 11:52 PM   #1
H3LLC4T1

Hornady 140gr .357 FTX in a .357 Sig?

Evening everyone. I purchased a Gen3 Glock 23 a few years ago and a barrel to convert it to .357 Sig. I hadn't had much luck with it, due to feed issues causing bullet setback. I just put the factory .40S&W barrel back in until I figured out what was causing the problem. While doing some research, I came to the conclusion that the problem was probably my mags, and I recently purchased a pair of new Glock 31 mags. The problem seems to have resolved itself (I hope), but .357 Sig seems pretty hard to get my hands locally, so instead of buying online, I would rather spend the money on bullets and reload my own.

I'm still fairly new to reloading .357 Sig, but I have reloaded a few. Mostly with Hornady 125gr .356 HAP JHP and Hodgedon CFE pistol. I like the idea of the Hornady Critical Defense, but not at $1.50/rd. I did manage to get my hands on 1 box of Hornady Custom 147gr bullets to load one of my mags and I contacted Hornady and was told they are not selling the FTX bullet they use in the critical defense/Duty rounds separately at this time. The only FTX bullet they do list in the .355-.357 range is the 140gr FTX bullet that they use in their .357 Mag LEVERevolution.

I tried doing a search prior to registering, but didn't really find an answer to my question. Has anyone successfully used this bullet in a .357 Sig case? I'm tempted to buy them anyway, simply to load .357 Mags for my Henry Big Boy or possibly 350 Legend rounds.

Thank you for the insight,
H3LLC4T1
Old December 19, 2023, 12:18 AM   #2
labnoti

It's not the best idea for two reasons.