The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Closed Thread

Old September 24, 2008, 07:16 PM   #1
rolyasm

Who Carries Reloaded for Self Defense?

I have heard from several people that you shouldn't carry your reloads for self defense. I would be interested by show of hands (forum response) who is carrying reloads and why? It seems a little backwards. I mean, the biggest reason I know of to reload is accuracy. Aside from hunting, I can't think of a better time to have my best accuracy possible in a self defense reload. I am new to reloading, and at this stage, yes, I always carry factory. Later on... not so black and white for me.
Old September 24, 2008, 07:25 PM   #2
kyle663

reloads

i've heard reloads are a lawyers wet dream when it comes time for the family of the crook to sue you because you were itching to kill someone with youre well developed killer bullet. they're lots of well developed sd loads and it gives the lawyers one less bit of ammo to use against you.
Old September 24, 2008, 07:54 PM   #3
OldMarksman
Staff

Quote:
I mean, the biggest reason I know of to reload is accuracy. Aside from hunting, I can't think of a better time to have my best accuracy possible in a self defense reload.
It would seem to me that accuracy would almost always be a non-issue at any distance at which the defense of justifiability of the use of deadly force is likely to prevail.

Quote:
i've heard reloads are a lawyers wet dream when it comes time for the family of the crook to sue you because you were itching to kill someone with youre well developed killer bullet. they're lots of well developed sd loads and it gives the lawyers one less bit of ammo to use against you.