The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old September 12, 2010, 12:50 AM   #1
Green Laser

Police Lasers?

My neighbor and I had a discussion about the value of having a laser on a handgun for self defense. The neighbor said the police do not use lasers on their handguns because they are a detriment instead of an advantage in a close quarters gunfight. The tendency being to try to aim the gun with the laser while the bad guy gets off the 1st shots. Is this true?
Old September 12, 2010, 05:24 AM   #2
trooper3385

I'm a police officer and I wouldn't think about putting a laser on a duty side arm. I could think of quite a few reason. For one, most police involved shootings happen at probably less that 20 ft. I don't believe there is much of an advantage at that range. Another reason kind of goes with the old saying, you play like you practice. If you practice with the laser, your going to get dependant on it. I don't have much experience with lasers, but I believe most of a switch to turn it on or at least a switch you turn on so when you press the pressure button it comes on. I promise you, there would be officers getting in a gun fight and pause to turn the laser on first because that's how they have practiced with the laser. Batteries can go dead as well. I don't believe they would be to practical in clearing houses or structures. It would be dictating your location to crooks that are hiding.
Old September 12, 2010, 08:08 AM   #3
m&p45acp10+1

Watch the lasermax video on thier site. It shows an LEO that was served well by his. Some departments allow them. Some do not. They can be a helpful tool if used properly. I am a firm believer in using sights on a handgun. If i could afford a laser i would probably opt for the lasergrip, over the guiderod vesrion.
Old September 12, 2010, 11:21 AM   #4
Shin71