The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old September 16, 2010, 11:43 AM   #1
MD11

weatherby newbie - .460 questions

Hi,

This is my first time posting and my first time joining a firearms message board... I've lurked a while and checked out other forums but like this place the best from what I can see.

I have decided to take the deep plunge into the realm of very high powered rifles.. I ordered a Mark V in .460 which I plan to take on my 1st Safari sometime next year... I hope to get a Cape Buffalo and maybe something else which is TBD. I thought long and hard about what to get and after talking to a few hunters who've been down there, I decided to go with the most powerful gun I can reasonably afford.. My fear now is that while this gun will be great to knock down a buffalo at close range with one shot... it's going to be hell to play with back home at the range.. I did get the Accubreak, which is now standard and reduces the recoil by some 50%, but that's still more than two and a half times what my 30-06 does..

I wanted to get a scope for it to use at the range, and also ask anyone who's owned one of these what / if any ammo I can get to use at the range that's going to be useful for 2-300 yard targets and at the same time not knock my shoulder loose.. Does anyone (reputable) reload 400 or even 450/500 grain bullets with a lighter load of powder so I don't get that 4 tons of muzzle energy but at the same time I don't lose too much of the shorter range ballistics?

Lastly, I was hoping to get some advise on weather to use Warne or Talley quick release rings and mount for the Leupold VX7 that I am putting on it... The scope is going to be mainly for the range. I live right near where Warne are made, and can go down to their factory and pick up a pair.. or I can order the Talley's from the Weatherby site.. The gun is on it's way to my dealer and will be ready to shoot sometime early next week.