The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 14, 2012, 12:47 PM   #1
rutilate

Rank order of 223 military headstamp desirability

Folks,
Of all the military .223 headstamps, how would you order them from most desirable to least and why?

I'm new to reloading and have been collecting/purchasing .223 brass from various sources. I have observed feeding frenzies over LC stamps but not so much others.
Old December 14, 2012, 12:53 PM   #2
rg1

LC Lake City is definitely the 1st choice followed by Winchester WCC. Also IMI military nato brass is top notch but less available.
Old December 14, 2012, 01:18 PM   #3
5R milspec

Remington for plinking/hunting rounds ( really no need to prep just load and shoot ) you can put many many loads on this brass with mild loads,its been a long time since I've had to buy any from the number of loads I've got.( plus I can pick it up free )

Nosler is a test still waitting to happen so no answer yet ( just bought some for the price was good )

Now lapua for bench shooting ( no other brass in my eyes for this ) just right out great brass.Just cost ya to get after that its great.I have got 14 or more firing's on one case with hotish loads in my 223 with a 69gn bullet.All so ( little prep )

thats it for me I've used no other brass.
Old December 16, 2012, 01:21 PM   #4
Jimro

Depends on what you are loading for I guess. I don't know of any high power shooters who don't use Lake City for service rifle AR-15s.

The main reason is that it is generally available, economical, and year to year consistency is very good.

If I were shooting F Class with a bolt rifle, I'd probably stick with LC brass as well, unless I got an itch to purchase Lapua or Norma brass just for the bolt rifle.

Jimro
Old December 16, 2012, 03:45 PM   #5
Bamashooter

I can take any brass case and turn it into a shooter. I like them all, even federal. Anything but steel cased garbage.