The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old April 26, 2011, 11:46 PM   #1
dylanlandis

fiction writer asks: popular '70s revolver?

I'm new to The Firing Line--writing a 2nd book of fiction, and in need of expert advice. Can anyone on this forum suggest a revolver that my character might own in 1970 for self-protection? This guy, about 40, has enough money to own something good. Not fantastic--but good. He lives in NYC, if that makes a difference. He's not a tough guy by any stretch; he's a professional musician, who keeps the gun stashed deep in a drawer, just in case.
A photo would be incredibly helpful. Thank you!
Old April 26, 2011, 11:56 PM   #2
Mike Irwin
Staff

You have a bunch to choose from.

All of the following are either .38 or .357 Magnum. All of the S&Ws I've listed are blued, there were similar stainless steel counterparts.

Google any of them for photos.

Smith & Wesson Model 19.

Smith & Wesson Model 10 - the classic police gun.

Smith & Wesson Model 14

Smith & Wesson Model 15

S&W Model 36, 37, 38, 40, 42, 49

Colt Python - High end even back then.

Colt Cobra

Colt Trooper

Colt Detective Special

Ruger Security Six

Ruger Service Six

A bit lower down on the scale, but very serviceable

Charter Arms Off Duty

Charter Arms Undercover

Charter Arms Bulldog

Hi Standard Magnum Sentinel III

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old April 26, 2011, 11:57 PM   #3
kraigwy

70s, not a gun guy, stuffed in the dresser drawers:

I'd say a 2 in Colt Det. Special or Smith Model 10 2 inch.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old April 27, 2011, 12:07 AM   #4
CajunBass

Smith & Wesson Model 10, 4" barrel, 38 special.