The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old March 12, 2000, 07:52 AM   #1
Mike H

Guys,

For anyone who's seen my posts in the rifle forum, I'm a novice rifleman in southern Pa who is interested in becoming involved in small and large game hunting. The "large" side of the equation is being handled by my wife's uncle who is a long standing deer man, but I'm also interested in doing some varminting which seems to have fewer restrictions and doesn't involve a 3 hour hike through snow just for one shot. So just how do I go about getting started, the Pennsylvania Game commission have been notably unhelpful, I have an e-mail from them that actually says that shooting anything without a permit could be an offence !
So do I need to find a friendly farmer who'll let me use his land or are there public areas set aside for varmint work. Also, do I need any certification to wander around with a rifle, getting arrested is not what I had in mind for my first hunt.

Any advice gratefully received.

Regards

------------------
A Person Is Smart
But People Are Stupid

Mike H
Old March 12, 2000, 09:31 AM   #2
Art Eatman
Staff in Memoriam

I'm not from Pennsy, so I can't help with some specifics, but I'd bet it's mostly private land--which means landowner permission. That's the courteous thing to do, anyway.

I'd choose a rifle which can shoot a 50-grain bulet at around 2,000 or 2,200 ft/sec--less noise. You may get permission to hunt somewhere, but the noise level of a .223 or a real cartridge like the .22-250 or the .220 Swift can upset the neighbors.

Pennsy has long been known for woodchucks. The .22 Hornet and the .218 Bee were considered the cat's meow for this. (Cat's meow means Good Thing, and was contemporaneous with the Hornet and Bee. Right, Dennis?)