The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 17, 2013, 08:51 PM   #1
big26john

44 mag primer question

I am new to 44 mag reloading. I got data from hodgdon. I was planning on using Hornady xtp 240 gr in place of the 240 gr NOS jhp will this change anything? Also I am planning on using H110 (23.5gr) which is a midrange charge.

I can't find any "remington 2 1/2" primers. Are there any substitute primers? Would a different primer change the pressure? Would the different bullet change the pressure?
Old April 17, 2013, 09:35 PM   #2
bigchicano

My books say to use magnum primers when using H110. I loaded up some 300gr xtp's using mag primers and H110. I've been loading 240gr tmj's with unique and regular large pistol primers. I did some research and because of the different powders you have to use magnum primers, H110 being one of them. Your hodgon book should have a footnote somewhere on compressed or full load charges next to the powder charge. The bullet wont make a difference, they are both the same hollow point weight. I bought 3000 large magnum primers when I picked up the h110 (winchester primers). You can use them for mag and regular loads.
Old April 17, 2013, 10:01 PM   #3
DannyAbear

Bullets
do make a difference, some are harder than others, some have more bearing surface, etc. H110 is made be Winchester, Winchester does not make mag large pistol primers, that ought to tell you something. Go check loads on www.wwpower.com
Old April 17, 2013, 10:11 PM   #4
jepp2

Quote:
I am new to 44 mag reloading.
For highest velocity loads in the 41 and 44 Mags, I find H110/W296 to be the best powder. But the range of min to max charges is very narrow. The load you reference is 24.0 starting, 25.0 max. And H110 is one of the powders that you need to not reduce below minimum.