The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old December 4, 2013, 01:27 PM   #1
8MM Mauser

Only fools fall in love...

With more handguns than they can afford...

Many of you probably know that I am a college student who works full time and has a toddler at home. Money is very tight, and I have had to pass on several amazing handgun deals in the past. This year, I fell in love 3 times and had my heart broken three times... With handguns I couldn't afford.

The first was a magnificent FN made Hi-Power from the 1950's for about $500. That gun fits my hand like it was made for me, I instantly fell i love, but $500 were not entirely forthcoming so... I had to pass. I'll probably never see this beauty or one quite like her again.

I also fell in love with the SIG P226 and Ruger Redhawk platforms. I had never fired a 226 until this year, but once I did I just got it... Once again, the price tag drove me away and even more forcefully this time.

Then there was a Redhawk. For a 7 1/2 inch barreled, all steel .44 MAG I cannot beleive how well this gun balances for me; and I found the same was true of a 6 inch GP100 too; but the Redhawks' caliber and classic lines really made in the gun for me... Except the whole money thing... Again.

So what guns have you had to pass on? And what guns/platforms have you fallen in love with in the last year that you never knew about/used before?
Old December 4, 2013, 01:53 PM   #2
JERRYS.

yeah, I have a mail order bride on the way in the form of a LWS380....
Old December 4, 2013, 03:02 PM   #3
Colt46

.44 special snubbie

Hard to find in general and even harder in california. I'm still looking for something on the 2nd hand market like the Rossi 720
Old December 4, 2013, 03:08 PM   #4
JERRYS.

you will like the 720! mine sits idle for now until I can make arraignments to get to the range again...
Old December 4, 2013, 03:30 PM   #5
Joe_Pike