The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old March 29, 2016, 05:02 PM   #1
Gregory Gauvin

Dang it - Another Glock rear sight complaint

I have a Glock 23 gen 3. I have two major complaints in the form of a question.

#1 - The gen 2's had a half circle cut in the magwell. This was eliminated in the gen 3's. To me, this feature seems beneficial. The cut, much like beveling a 1911 magwell, would seemingly help in rapid magazine changes. Why would they revert to a design that originally had a beneficial application. (They also made the gen 3's feel like crap compared to the gen 2's and gen 4's in terms of grip angle/finger groove/backstrap...etc.)

#2 - I've been shooting glocks for 10+ years. I don't suffer from the typical "My glock shoots left because of trigger control/thumbing/etc...all that most new glock shooters have. My Gen 4 glock 19 is dead on accurate. The rear sight is drifted to the right slightly. Factory. NIB. Came that way.

I recently replaced my Gen 3 glock 23 sights with OEM Glock night sights. I measured the factory sights with the NS and they are dimensionally identical. I have a bit of OCD, and used a flat surface and calipers as well as a mechanics ruler to make sure the front sight was balls on center. I put the rear sight centered in the dovetail, and hit my local range with a wooden dowel and brass hammer figuring I'd need to drift it one way or another (most likely to the right since most glocks shoot left). Glock shot an inch or so left at 25'. I was shooting supported, taking careful aim. I had to drift the rear sight to the right. I have the gun sighted in now, and was throwing rounds dead center in a 1" square at 25' both from rest, and off hand.