The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old April 23, 2012, 08:27 PM   #1
newshooter1992

Guns allowed in apartments?

First let me explain my situation:

I am a Texas college student transferring to a new university next year (in San Marcos). I will also be living with my girlfriend and soon to be fiance along with two other roommates who have absolutely no problems with me keeping, and need be, using a firearm in the apartment. I planned on buying a home defense shotgun (too young to purchase a handgun) for the apartment I live in now but didn't have the money. I now plan on buying a home defense shotgun for the one I will live in next year.

My question is do apartment complexes allow firearms? My lease right now does not say anything regarding the issue but I plan on asking the management about it. I have also done a little bit of research on the internet and have gotten different answers. My girlfriend thinks that I cannot and fears that we will get in trouble if we are somehow caught with one.

The only protection I have at the moment is a bayonet I got when I purchased my Mosin Nagant and I am not even sure if that is allowed. I would feel safer for both me and my girlfriend with a firearm there to protect us in case the worse happens. Has anyone ever dealt with this situation?
Old April 23, 2012, 08:28 PM   #2
zoomie

Are you on or off campus? There's no law against it if you're off campus. (On campus you'll have to read the school's rules.) Either way, the lease might say no firearms/weapons/teddy bears. Read the lease carefully before you sign it.
Old April 23, 2012, 08:31 PM   #3
CowTowner

What zoomie said........ Read the lease very carefully. Better yet, get a lawyer to look it over before you sign to verify the property owner does not prohibit a lessee from possessing a firearm on the property.