The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old March 1, 2011, 10:04 PM   #1
digi_virus

Starting Competition Shooting

Not really sure how to begin, so I'll start with a little background. My name is Kyle and I have been shooting for almost 18 years now. Started with my grandpa making me read the Red Rider instruction and safety manual when I was 5. Which lead to shooting trap(broke the first target I shot at, and probably should have quit then), bird hunting, rifle hunting for deer, and most recently within the last year pistol shooting. I have enjoyed my time being an on and off type of gun sportsman, but am considering taking up competition pistol shooting as a hobby. I currently do not own a pistol myself, but have experience with several of my fathers pistols.

Basically I guess what I'm looking for is a good starting place for competition pistol shooting. Gun and gear recommendations, and yes I know first and foremost I have to be comfortable with what I'm shooting. So here is me asking the community for sound advice on getting started in the world of competition pistols.
Old March 2, 2011, 08:01 AM   #2
Don P

For IDPA a concealed carry holster and any off the shelf gun will work and magazine pouches. 3 magazines will suffice. Here is their web site, www.idpa.com
Most stages will be under 24 rounds to be fair to the revolver shooters and for a match total of around 90-100 rounds depending on how many stages are set up.

For USPSA any holster will work and you can wear as many magazines and pouches that your belt can support. Any gun will do as long as you meet the requirements for the division. Round count for a match will run around 140-160. Here is their web site www.uspsa.org

All I can say about both disciplines is they ARE FUN TO SHOOT AND ADDICTING
As you are, I once was, As I am, You will be.
Old March 2, 2011, 09:16 AM   #3
Jim Watson

Quote:
Most stages will be under 24 rounds