The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 18, 2009, 02:05 PM   #1
GuitarXM

The Correct Rifle Load?

This is my first time reloading...
I have all the equipment and watched a bunch of reloading videos and have multiple reloading manuals that I got online.

This is what I am reloading or I should say loading.. lol:
Remington 308 Winchester case
168 Gr Sierra MatchKing
IMR 4064 Powder
CCI #200 large rifle primer

This is what the manuals say....

Sierra Manual: IMR-4064 37.8 39.7 41.5 43.4
Primer: Federal 210m Case: Federal

Hogdon Manual: IMR 4064 Start: 41.5 Max: 45.9C
Primer: Federal 210m Case: Winchester

I know that when you start to load, you have to start 10% under max.
The problem is that I am using different primers and a different case.
I am not sure, but I think Federal has thinner cases and maybe that is why their max load is lighter?

I couldn't find any information regarding CCI and Remington in any manual.
What do you guys think should be the starting load here?
I have those calibrated spoons and an RCBS 502 scale to weigh the powder.

And why do people increase their load? I thought increasing the load will cause inaccuracy compared to a lighter starting load? It's not like your adding 1000 ft/sec.
Old March 18, 2009, 02:48 PM   #2
PCJim

Good toss-up. Although Hodgdon makes IMR powders, and Sierra makes your intended bullet, I would go with Sierra's load data as it is the lighter of the two. Just by chance, does either load data specify a particular rifling twist that may better match your intended rifle?

You are correct in that max loads do not necessarily provide the best accuracy. You should create a minimum of 5 rounds of each load, working up in .5 gr increments from Sierra's starting load, or rounded to 38.0gr for simplicity. When you find a good grouping, experiment around that recipe in +/- .1gr increments to zero in on the ideal recipe.