The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 14, 2010, 08:05 PM   #1
jolson11

Help Please: .357 Mag Loads Revolver vs Rifle

Hi all,
First time actually posting on the forum. I've thoroughly enjoyed viewing it in the past and have admired all the sound (usually) advice. I've been reloading for a few years now for rifle cartridges, but I'm just getting into loading for my new revolver and looking to buy a .357 carbine as well. I have a few questions for those on this forum wiser than I. You'll have to forgive me if they've been answered/covered before. I searched and couldn't come up with anything more than a mention or two for each topic, not an entire thread. If there's one that I don't know about I'd appreciate someone pointing me to it. Again, sorry if it's a repeat, but thanks for any advice!

My questions are as follows:

1) Anybody have any good load suggestions for a 125 gr Hornady XTP using Alliant Unique powder for a revolver (6" barrel) or rifle (16-18" barrel)? My load books don't list the XTP/Unique combination (if they have the bullet, they don't list it with the powder, etc). I know I'm going to get a bunch of 2400 and H-110 fans here, but I'm not trying to push it to its limit quite yet. I'd like a mid-range load, and I think Unique would be nice given its flexibility within loads and between calibers. Yes, I am looking to move up to the 158 gr, but I thought the 125 gr might be a little more forgiving for a start despite the shorter bullet length. Or could anyone point me toward a loading manual that might cover such things (thinking about buying the two Lyman manuals)?