The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 17, 2006, 02:19 PM   #1
CLYDE71

Bad Crimps

Let me start with what equipment I'm using (plus I'm new to this). I have a Dillon 550b, lee dies. Ranier 45acp 230gr Rn bulletts.

I'm just making dummy rounds now,just make sure oal and dia are good.

The problem I'm having is the crimping of the rounds. After I'm done with a round I press on the top of the bullett to see if I can push it down into the shell. About 95% does this

Then I switched to a Pacific Durachrome taper die, and I still have the same problems.

The bulletts when I pull them out will have the endentation on them from the taper.Then I take a measurement of the bullett .451 then i measure the I.D of the shell .450 at the rim of the shell where the crimp is.

I have the Die adjusted to the point where if I turn it down anymore, the die will hit the bullett and push it down.

I used used cleaned R-P shells, dirty (uncleaned)W-W,SPEER,FEDERAL. These are all once fired brass. Plus I lubed the cases with a DRY SILICONE SPRAY #14 by APC. It seemed to make it worse

Do I need to buy Dillon Dies? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I need to start shooting again.

Thanks
Old June 17, 2006, 03:48 PM   #2
impact

Do you seat and crimp in two different operations? Most all of my 32 dies sets are RCBS. I don't know much about other die sets but the tapper crimp die from RCBS can put one heck of a crimp on a cartridge. Also get a carbide sizer die. makes life easy.

I wish I could be there to see whats going on. maybe someone else will chime in. Good luck! Yah you need to go shoot your gun
Old June 17, 2006, 04:23 PM   #3
JJB2

did you forget to full lenth resize your cases?? i use lee speed dies and a lee factory crimp die sometimes..... i've never had the problem you seem to having ....
Old June 17, 2006, 04:58 PM   #4
ShuckersFan