The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 2, 2002, 07:02 AM   #1
Jorah Lavin

M1: 30-06, wht-tail, what bullet, load?

Okay, here is the deal.

Some time this fall, if I'm a good little boy, the delivery man will bring me my first M1 from CMP.

I've been shooting loaner M1s for the last two years, and this summer got set up to reload the Lake City brass I've been saving up.

Also this fall I may go on my first-ever deer hunt, and I'll probably use either my Marlin 30/30 or the M1 if I get it in time.

I live in central NC, so there is a mix of fields and dense underbrush... range might be as far as 150 yards, so I'll take the M1 if I can. Anyhow, I feel fairly good about the 30/30 load, a flat-point Sierra 180 gr jacketed bullet, but I'm waffling on what to put together for the M1.

Right now I'm loading 151 gr pulled military FMJ bullets, and will stay with 150 gr if people advise, but I'm thinking that a hollow point in the 170-180 gr might be better... I'm just not sure if you can shoot other weights in the Garand, or if you have to stick with the one bullet weight.

Is this confusing enough?

Anyway, your advice on bullet weight, brand, style (hollow point or soft point, etc.) and suggested starting charge and brand/type of powder would be greatly appreciated.

-Jorah

PS: Yes, whatever I settle on, I'll be practicing a lot with before I go out into the field...

I say we take off and nuke the site from orbit... it's the only way to be sure.
Old September 2, 2002, 07:33 AM   #2
Khornet

General recs are

180 gr or less in M1
No powder slower than 4350

Best IMHO Hornady 150 gr spire point, CCI large rifle primer, 4064 50 grains, maybe up to 52, but 50 is just fine. All you need for deer!
Old September 2, 2002, 07:48 AM   #3
Jorah Lavin

Hey! that's the powder I'm using now...

Quote:
Hornady 150 gr spire point, CCI large rifle primer, 4064 50 grains