The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 24, 1999, 04:46 PM   #1
CMOS

Hello all. I am new to TFL. "It's my first time ".

My ususal spot is AR15.com and I thought I'd see what all the good comments were about here.

My purpose for posting here is that I need you help with something. I've designed a portable target system that will have interchangeable "target plates" of various sizes, shapes and thicknesses.

My question for you is what type of targets should I provide if I want to supply to the "Cowboy" market? What do you guys shoot at?

I'm on #3 prototype right now and would like to market this if it is received well. I had folks bidding on my prototype when I took it to the range.

Thanks in advance for your help.
CMOS
Old June 25, 1999, 09:43 AM   #2
fal308
Staff Alumnus

If you're talking steel, locally we use the same plates and poppers that other disciplines use. CAS regs pretty much regulate speed of projectiles. My 44 cowboy loads run around 700 - 800 or so if I remember right out of 7 1/2" Vaqueros. Been a looooong time since I did any chronographing. SASS webstie has the velocity limits posted , I believe.
We have made up some cardboard cutouts and sketched them up as appropriate (bg, no shoot, etc).
As for styles, mostly I've seen "the usual suspects"; bg holding weapon, kid with toy, lady holding shovel and that ilk (B5 type targets).
HTH
Old June 25, 1999, 12:27 PM   #3
CMOS

Hmm, do you guys always shoot at targets that large?

The current "design" I have will suspend a target, off the ground, about 30 inches. The targets I have tried out are MUCH smaller than what you ementioned - more like rectangles in 10"x12", 10"x18", 8" round, etc.

Are these types of target sizes used by the "cowboy" shooters?

Thanks again. I'm trying to learn about this cowboy shooting thing...

CMOS
Old June 25, 1999, 03:03 PM   #4
Bill Mitchell
Staff Alumnus

Howdy CMOS,