The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old May 26, 2014, 09:38 PM   #1
oldknotty

really hooked on BP

I went out and shot my two revolvers this weekend and boy was it ever the best time i ever had shooting . I am well and truly hooked on the Bp guns now so i have a question far anyone out there that knows . I have a strong liking for civil war weaponry and i am on the look out for a good deal on an 1861 Springfield rifled musket . I would prefer a ready to shoot type but a kit is not out of the question either . Who makes a good rifle and what is a good price to pay if i should find a used one for sale in good condition .Don't forget i am a real rookie here so any advice will be gratefully received .I am so hooked i am selling my treasured bass and amp to pay for my addictions :-)
Old Knotty
Old May 26, 2014, 10:02 PM   #2
Trum4n1208

I know Cabela's in Louisville has one. It'd be a two hour drive for you, but just thought you'd want to know.
Old May 27, 2014, 05:26 PM   #3
chaz12

1861s are generally pricey, more than I am willing to pay for 1860s technology. There are three suppliers that you see most often, Dixie Gun Works, Pedersoli, and Armisport. Dixie is an importer and I don't know off hand who makes the musket they sell.

The typical price on gunbroker for a new 1861 is 850 dollars and up. I did see a used one in good condition on gunbroker recently that was listed at 600 dollars. It was there for many weeks, so you could have gotten it at that price if you had bid. That is the lowest price I have ever seen on one.

Chaz
Old May 28, 2014, 12:24 AM   #4
Hellgate

Check these guys out, it is the North/South skirmish association classifieds. Here you will find new and used Civil War era rifled muskets. I've gotten rifles off this site.

http://www.n-ssa.org/vbforum/forumdi...For-Sale-Items
SASS#3302 (Life), SASS Regulator, NRA (Life), Dirty Gamey Bastards #129