The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 29, 2006, 11:29 AM   #1
KDM

Reloading the 375 H&H

Hi, all...I'm just getting into reloading, and will be building the 375 H&H. In your opinion, what would be a good press / setup for this round? Doesn't need to be a progressive, as I won't be volume-shooting my new CZ550. Looking towards a single stage, with lots of aftermarket support, that's big enough and sturdy enough for the big ol' cartridge. Thanks for your input!
Old December 29, 2006, 02:59 PM   #2
Foxman

RCBS Rockchucker, or Redding big boss I have both they are both good, the big boss has a bit more room for long cases and is about 20 bucks cheaper at Midway. You will have no problem reloading the 375, use the heavier bullets, the 270gr boattail ones tend to wack you harder than the 300gr flatbases or the 235 gr practice bullets. I use Reloader 22 and have had real good results with the book loads.
I was lucky to get one of the last Winchester Safari with the pre 64 action and it is a fine rifle shoots well and has whole load of history in Africa and its American made.
Old December 29, 2006, 03:30 PM   #3
KDM

Thanks, Foxman. Generally, are presses standardized? For example, could I use RCBS dies on a Redding press? Reason I ask is, one manufacturer might make an excellent press, but really crappy dies. Interchangeability (within reason) would be nice.
Old December 29, 2006, 04:15 PM   #4
ClarkEMyers

For your purposes 7/8-14 is the universal standard.

For your purposes 7/8-14 is the universal standard. Exceptions include 50 Browning dies and some odd-balls such as Lyman Tru-Line Jr. and Dillon Square Deal B presses but those are not even remotely applicable to your needs.

On the other hand capitalism works and there's nobody out there making a great press and terrible dies.

I'd say when in doubt go Redding but RCBS has fine products and service as do many others.