The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old January 6, 2013, 12:25 AM   #2
tahunua001

EDIT:
the pictures didn't work at first but now the links are working. I am not an expert in civil war era rifles in any way but the first appears to be a genuine springfield, the bayonet lugs are a feature that many of the reproductions failed to remember to add if I recall correctly.
Old January 6, 2013, 12:27 AM   #3
cokelover

Sorry got the pics up as links, tried to embed them but it didn't work. hmm.
Old January 6, 2013, 12:33 AM   #4
tahunua001

the second also appears to be a springfield though obviously not as well kept. I can't make out the date clearly but it appears to say 1828, if so and I might just be a blathering idiot but it seems the bands were a week point of construction and some soldiers may have used the wire as a make shift repair on the move. there is another thread here of an 1853 enfield musket that also has wire wraps in place of barrel bands.
Old January 6, 2013, 12:55 AM   #5
cokelover

Are these worth much? Is there any way to have these cleaned and serviced the point of being used again by a professional gun dealer?

Also, I was a bit worried about how to check and make sure there still wasn't a charge in there. I'm not brave enough to point a flashlight down the barrel and position my head over it. lol
Old January 6, 2013, 01:09 AM   #6
tahunua001