The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 22, 2004, 04:30 PM   #1
partyguy816

Newbie has questions

I am new to reloading and I have a couple of questions. I went out today to the local store and bought some brass for my .300 cheap. I bought 60 pieces and there are 10 or 11 of them that are WW Super brass and the mouths are not round like a normal piece of brass should be. Some are not major, but others are. Will the die's straighten this out or should I just throw them away?

Also most have primers in them already and I do not know what kind they are. Should I just put them in the press and deprime them or just load them as blanks and shoot them?

Thanks.
Old November 22, 2004, 04:53 PM   #2
Jim Watson

I run new brass through the entire process just as though they were fired. Brass will, as you see, get dented in packaging and shipping. The sizing die and expander ball will round them right out. If the neck is mashed so bad that the expander ball won't go in as the case enters the die, use a smooth rod to iron it out manually, then resize and load.

I don't understand why "most" of this brass was primed. Some brass comes from the factory primed, some doesn't, but it should not be mixed. Were you buying different brands or lots? Why?

Anyhow, factory primers are fine. Take the decapping pin out of the sizing die, process them, load them up and shoot them.
Old November 22, 2004, 05:01 PM   #3
partyguy816