The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 1, 2014, 10:42 PM   #1
dom350

308 case trim ?

Good evening - I am new to reloading rifle cartridges - been reloading pistols for awhile and I finally got a case trimmer to start in on the rifle side.

Here is my question. I just went and fired about 40 308 rounds and I went to trim them per the specs in my lynman book. It says this

Cast Trim length = 2.005
max case length = 2.015

Most of my case are between 2.003 and 2.004. I was under the impression that they stretched during discharge. These are factory rounds, just fired. Am I missing something here???
Old May 2, 2014, 01:31 AM   #2
nemesiss45

They probably just trimmed them short at the factory. Reload them, shoot them, then see where they are at.

Also, did you size before measuring? They should stretcg in sizing.
Old May 2, 2014, 03:50 AM   #3
Blindstitch

Several manufacturers use undersized or THEIR Size brass. I'm sure there are a few reasons why but I can't think of any besides maybe being able to use the same projectile across a huge line of ammo.

Some cased don't stretch all that much the first few firings but i'm sure after you reload this brass a few times you will be able to worry about trimming.
Old May 2, 2014, 05:36 AM   #4
Jim243