The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old May 19, 2009, 08:21 AM   #1
mravery

COLT vs Uberti pocket police

Hello All,

Newbie here so I apologise if this is too basic of a question....

I have a Uberti 1862 pocket navy (used) and just picked up a Colt 2nd Gen (serial 521xx)Pocket Police (used).

The finish on the Colt is much nicer than the Uberti but what I'm concerned about is the action on the Colt. The hammer pull is very stiff and feels like two pieces of sandpaper rubbing against each other. Also, about one in 10 hammer pulls the cylinder mis-aligns to the hammer.

Is this something that can be corrected or is it serious? The pistol was purchased with an as/is option.

Is this a normal issue with these guns and that it will just work it out after a while or?? The gun is very clean and does not appear to be abused in any way.

I thought that the quality of an 2nd Gen Colt would be superior to the Uberti.

Any thoughts or suggestions greatly appreciated!

Cheers
Mark
Old May 19, 2009, 08:42 AM   #2
madcratebuilder

Look at these two links, maybe you well want to clean up the action yourself.

http://www.theopenrange.net/articles...a_Part_One.pdf

http://www.theopenrange.net/articles...a_Part_Two.pdf
Old May 19, 2009, 10:57 AM   #3
Fingers McGee

The 2nd Gens were shipped with grease in the innards and on the arbor. In the 25+ years since they were made, the grease hardens making the actions extremely hard to work. I got a '61 Navy that you could hardly cock. Once I stripped it down & cleaned all the gunk out of it (especially in the hand channel of the frame), it functioned smoothly and easily. Of course, while you're in there, you might as well smooth all the parts using Petifogger's instructions too.

FM