The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 9, 2006, 10:25 PM   #1
jpr9954

Maintaining Dies?

What sort of oil or other lubricant/rust preventive should be used to maintain reloading dies? I am a newbie but I am starting to build up a collection of dies and want to protect my investment.

I live within 10 miles of a paper plant and in a humid climate so I am worried about rust and corrosion.

Thanks for the help.

John in WNC
Old November 9, 2006, 10:42 PM   #2
Edward429451

I clean & oil them once in awhile, but then the oil gets wiped back off and into the box again. I collect theose little bags of dessicant that come with so many things and eventually all die boxes have one or three in them.
Old November 9, 2006, 11:11 PM   #3
Unclenick
Staff

I think there are several answers to this and they will depend upon how often you use your dies. You can use hevier preservatives like RIG or spray on Boeshield T9 or LPS-3. These all leave a greasy or waxy layer. The nuisance is removing them when you want to use the die.

I did a recent experiment with a Lee bullet sizing die in which I treated it with Shooter's Solutions Moly-Fusion oil, and was able to demonstrate that dry bullets went through it with 20% less effort than before the treatment, by standing on a bathroom scale while I pushed the press ram. This treatment offers both lubrication and some corrosion resistance to the surface. The web site reports that it also prevents unlubricated cases from getting stuck in a sizing die, but I have not put this to the test. It is probably good insurance against that error, though, in addition to helping mitigate corrosion.