The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 29, 2014, 09:22 PM   #1
shooterbob

30-30 issue

I haven't loaded a lot of cannelure bullets and was playing with some 30-30 that need to be crimped. I got this on testing the seating depth and crimping. I've crimped large rounds and some 270's but have never experienced this before. Depth is showing to be spot on on the cannelure , but got this double collapse. Lube was Hornady wax that I've never used before, so I'm leaning in this direction as the cause.
Old April 29, 2014, 09:32 PM   #2
shooterbob

Ok after more checking, its the crimp in the die. I can seat fine and as soon as I went a little farther I get a neck collapse. Someone pick my brain off the floor and.kick start me into thinking lol
Old April 29, 2014, 09:50 PM   #3
Reloader2

Did you back off on the seater plug when you attempted to crimp the case?
Old April 29, 2014, 09:57 PM   #4
jersurf101

I did this in .270. I has the die screwed in too far. Too short for the case and it has no where to go and buckles.
Old April 29, 2014, 10:02 PM   #5
Clark

That case neck looks like my socks.
"Ad hominem fallacy" is not the same as point by point criticism of books. If you bought the book, and believe it all, it may FEEL like an ad hominem attack, but you might strive to accept other points of view may exist.
Are we a nation of competing ideas, or a nation of forced conformity of thought?
Old April 29, 2014, 10:10 PM   #6
chiefr

Seating bullet too far in and over crimping.
Old April 29, 2014, 10:29 PM   #7
jimbob86

The .30/30 case is especially prone to this- it's thinner than many other bottlenecked cases.

To prevent this, make sure all cases are trimmed to a uniform length, and crimp as a separate operation from seating, either with a crimp die, or with the seater plug backed out so it does not contact the bullet.
Old April 29, 2014, 11:12 PM   #8
shooterbob