The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 28, 2014, 06:26 PM   #1
Shooke

accurate #5

Just wanted some opinions on #5. I've got a opportunity to get a couple lbs tomorrow. I'm just beginning on reloading will mostly load out 9mm for target shooting. I'm also seeing other powders on gun bot starting to be available. Been trying for months to find some powder so I can get started. Is this a good powder to start out with? Or wait on some #2,hp38,231,tight group or any suggestions.
Old April 28, 2014, 06:59 PM   #2
Sid

Accurate #5 is an excellent powder for 9mm. I have loaded thousands of rounds with this without any difficulty. It also meters very easily through your powder measure.
Old April 28, 2014, 07:01 PM   #3
MEATSAW

#5 is fantastic if you are going to use full power loads. In that application it is hard to beat in the popular handgun calibers. It meters like water and shoots clean. It produces consistent results with low SD and ES.

However... If you are planning on using low power "target" loads you will want a faster burning powder. Yes, you can use it but there is a lot of unburned powder and it's far more dirty. If that's what you are after I would suggest Win231, or a shotshell powder. I especially like ramshot competition for my target loads.
Old April 28, 2014, 07:29 PM   #4
mnoirot64

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEATSAW View Post
#5 is fantastic if you are going to use full power loads. In that application it is hard to beat in the popular handgun calibers. It meters like water and shoots clean. It produces consistent results with low SD and ES.

However... If you are planning on using low power "target" loads you will want a faster burning powder. Yes, you can use it but there is a lot of unburned powder and it's far more dirty. If that's what you are after I would suggest Win231, or a shotshell powder. I especially like ramshot competition for my target loads.