The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old June 10, 2006, 02:43 PM   #1
blindr

.17 HM2 versus .17 HMR

I'm looking into buying a .17 HM2 or a .17 HMR for squirrel & rabbit control at my ranch. My question is how loud are these? Have distant neighbors that might not appreciate the noise. Is the .17 HM2 significantly quieter than the HMR? Accuracy and power out to 100 yards, 150 occasionally would be preferred.
Old June 10, 2006, 10:49 PM   #2
lil_bro

I don't have ether one but I would guess that they are about the same noise wise.Also IMO get the .17hmr.

Michael.
Old June 11, 2006, 12:28 AM   #3
stevelyn

I've been shooting a friend's .17HMR quite a bit, but I have zero experience with the Mach II. The .17 HMR is scary accurate and tends to turn varmints inside out. We've taken furbearers including foxes with impressive results.

As far as loudness, it's not much different than any other rimfire out of a long barrel and in my experience with a little distance and obstacles, it's doubtful the neighbors will hear it or even notice unless they're listening for it.

I also think that the Mach II will likely be going away in the future. There just doesn't seem to be the demand for it, nor does it have the popularity of the HMR.

Do yourself a favor though. Regardless of the rifle you choose, you have to get the BSA Sweet 17 scope to mount on top of it.

East Moose. Wear Wolf.
Old June 11, 2006, 07:57 AM   #4
silicon wolverine

.17 mach 2 is a necked down 22LR. .17HMR is a necked down .22WMR. the mach 2 will be quieter than the HMR but both break the sound barrier so you get that supersonic "crack". Id take a standard subsonic .22LR over either one any day.

SW
Old June 11, 2006, 09:14 AM   #5
dragonfire

I have a marlin917v in 17hmr and its good up to 150 yards with about quarter size groups.As for the mach 2 its a little quieter than 17 hmr but the 17 hmr has a better range and flatter shooting past 100 yards.