The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 10, 2012, 12:57 PM   #1
Mustangman94

New to reloading.

Hey I have got a very simple question. I'm sure that i could find it somewhere but it would be easier this way... I think.. Like I said in the title I am new to reloading. I bought everything I need about a year back and got so busy with school and work that i didn't have time to mess with it. but now I have time and need some help/advice. What I bought is a Lee Load all II (I know cheap and amateur but i figured it would be easier to start off with), Alliant powder (unique), clay buster WAA wads, Remington premier sts primers, and ive got Remington gun club hulls, winchester AA hulls and some winchester universal hulls. I dont know if i can use those hulls interchangeably with the wads ive got or if ill have to order more. I guess im asking for a recipe (if thats what its called) and some advice. I appreciate any help and advice anyone can provide. Thanks
this is for a 20 ga also. i guess thats a pretty important detail.
Old July 10, 2012, 01:02 PM   #2
temmi

Sorry I have never loaded Shotgun...

someone will be along to help

Snake
Old July 10, 2012, 02:26 PM   #3
SL1

Loading shot shells is a different proposition than loading metallic cartridges for rifles and handguns.

Shotshells work at much lower pressures, and they can be VERY sensitive to component substitutions, so there is no room for experimentation.

You need to find a recipe that uses the SAME hull, SAME wad, SAME primer, SAME powder, and the shot charge weight that you want to use. There are some components that can be substitued for each other, but you need to find that the MANUFACTURER says so, not just some guy on You-Tube.