The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 27, 2013, 05:45 PM   #1
Slapchop

New hornady lnl press, sizing die stuck in ICC brass

I am brand new to reloading. While following the manufacturers instructions on assembly, we installed the 223 sizer, lubed up a case, and attempted to size and de-prime. The pin doesn't seem to get close to the primer (we started at recommended length of 3/16" and went up to 1/2"). And then it keeps getting stuck in the neck on the down stroke. The inside of the case was also lubed. We tried one shot, and followed up with powdered black graphite, as recommended on the hornady trouble shooting page. Please help a rookie reloader!
Old September 27, 2013, 06:10 PM   #2
jwrowland77

Here's what I do.

I use kiwi mink oil. Cheap and can get it regularly. I swipe my fingers across the top rub it on the case body. Then I take a q-tip and lightly roll it across the top of the polish. I do a quick turn around the inside of the neck. Bingo-bango, resized case.

I did get my first case stuck (wasn't using mink oil polish) so I pushed the expander ball into the case. Took the depriming pin out of the die. Took my dremel tool and cut of the bottom of the case without touching the pin. Pin came out, reassembled die and filed away the lesson learned.
Old September 27, 2013, 07:17 PM   #3
Slapchop

We'll give it a shot!
Old September 27, 2013, 09:52 PM   #4
jag2

Something you didn't mention so I'll ask. Did you give the die a good cleaning? You should have swabbed the inside of the die, what ever gun cleaner you use should work. Remove the decapping pin so you can get at it. Hoppes, CLP or something similar. After cleaning give it a short blast of your One Shot. Might help.
Old September 28, 2013, 06:02 AM   #5
Slapchop

Jag2

We did clean the die, more than once. Thanks.
Old September 28, 2013, 07:25 AM   #6
mehavey

Quote:
We tried one shot...