The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 3, 2009, 01:18 PM   #1
Cawnc4

Help with reloading.

Hello, I am new to reloading. To be more specific I have never done it, but I have been all over the internet researching and the like. I have a 1942 carcano that fires 6.5x52mm Carcano ammunition, a glock 19 (9mm), and a remington 870 12 gauge. Most of the presses I have found can reload the pistol and rifle but I have yet to find a press that mentions shotgun shells. I am looking at getting the dillon RL550b (found here)

but on the flipside I am not only looking at dillons, seeing as they are pricy. Could anyone else recommend a press that can reload all of those calibers for less of a price?
Old January 3, 2009, 01:26 PM   #2
IllinoisCoyoteHunter

shotshell reloading and metallic reloading are two seperate beast that require two different presses.

~NRA LIFE MEMBER~
~NRA CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR~
Old January 3, 2009, 01:29 PM   #3
Cawnc4

ok would you recommend reloading for the shotgun or just buying wallmart rounds for the shotgun?
Old January 3, 2009, 01:34 PM   #4
remshooter

Quote:
ok would you recommend reloading for the shotgun or just buying wallmart rounds for the shotgun?
What little I have fooled with reloading shot shells unless you shoot bucket loads its not worth it.
Just like metallic reloading it all comes down to volume/price.
Old January 3, 2009, 01:36 PM   #5
Cawnc4

first off I would like to thank you guys for the info, it was extremly helpful!

second off, what metalic press would you recommend? also I would like one that does multiple steps at a time that way there is less for me to mess up on.
Old January 3, 2009, 01:43 PM   #6
dardascastbullets

Hi Cawn!