The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 25, 2008, 12:00 PM   #1
tug

gonna buy a reloader kit

I'm a total newbie to reloading so all information is new and alot of opinions some means zip to me as they are too advanced and I'm starting from . I've read the intro at the top of this forum and a number of threads about the reloaders. So I understand that the Lee Classic Turret press and kit would be the best one to start with. The only hesitations I have are the remarks about the amount of plastic parts , the uncomfortable hand griping and is it made in the U.S.A. very important aspect to me. I am going to look around online to see what they look like the Lee, Rockcrusher, and a few others mentioned in this forum. Am I on the right track for a starting point for my purchase of a press. I want to be able to reload pistol and rifle rounds and not need to upgrade too soon. It's for range rounds and when I get confident I'll also do hunting loads, etc.
Old October 25, 2008, 12:52 PM   #2
totalloser

A wonderful press. I use mine almost solely for handling goof ups, swaging pockets etc, (I roll on a progressive) but it's a great little press. I'd say you are basically on the right track, but really the number one is a couple books. ABC's of Reloading is supposed to be good, and I pretty much learned from scratch from Lee's modern reloading. Try not to retch at their shameless promotion of their products, though. Even if merited, it's still kind of irritating.

You will really need at least one or two books, anyway, and if you get them first, and read the first half which goes over all the basics, you will make better decisions in purchasing your loading equipment. In other words, you will have a better idea of how to tailor your choices to meet your personal needs.

It's nearly impossible to go wrong with the Classic Turret, though. Very nice press. Cannot be beat for price either.