The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 29, 2013, 06:26 AM   #1
steveNChunter

Need help tweaking a load for my .25-06

I'm pretty new to reloading and I've been doing some experimenting with Ramshot hunter powder in my Howa .25-06. So far with the first load I've worked up, I'm getting 1-1.5" groups at 50 yards. Not hardly acceptable for me. I'm loading the book-max of 55.3 gr under 100 gr NBT's with Winchester magnum primers at an overall length of 3.245. (max OAL is 3.250) I'm not getting any signs of excess pressure. Also guess I should mention I'm not crimping.

What should I change first to try to tighten my groups up? Should I shorten my OAL a little? I also have some Fed 210 primers I could switch to, but I figured if anything the mag primers would help the hunter powder burn more evenly. If the hunter powder just ends up not being worth a hoot in my rifle, I have some IMR 4831 I'll be using next. Give this newb some guidance

Last edited by steveNChunter; May 29, 2013 at 06:34 AM.
Old May 29, 2013, 07:30 AM   #2
stevelyn

Are you following a published recipe using the primers listed? To my knowledge, you don't need magnum primers with Ramshot powders especially in a 30-06 based case. Hunter isn't temperature sensitive nor hard to light and you aren't having to light off a large volume.

Temps in your part of the country shouldn't be much of an issue anyway and sometimes magnum primers can tend to make an otherwise good load a bit squirrelly. Neck tension (crimp) shouldn't be much of an issue if you are using quality dies.

Most of us will do "ladders" when load developing. Pick your bullet. Pick your powder based on the load recipe and starting with the starting load and ending with the max, load up a half-dozen or more with each charge weight and then go out and shoot groups to find out which is showing promise.