The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 22, 2012, 12:44 AM   #1
cohibamatt

Difference Between .380 and 9MM?

First let me start off be saying that I am new to reloading. I have read The ABC's of Reloading and the Lee and Lyman reloading manuals. I have hand loaded about 500 rounds of 45ACP using different kinds of powder and several different manufactures of bullets. I want to start to reload some of my other calibers one of them being the 380 ACP. I have found bullets that I like, but the manufacture states that they are for 9MM with a diameter of .355. Other manufactures have .380 bullets with the same diameter of .355, is there a difference in the bullet? I know that the .380 is also called the 9mm Short. Is there a length difference. I checked in all of the books and even did a search in the forms here and didn't see an answer.Thanks in advance for the help.
Matt
Old August 22, 2012, 06:52 AM   #2
j357

You will find with a little additional reading and exploration that the bullet diameters are the same. As I recall my initial research in loading manuals and catalog review lead me to the observation that 380 bullets will be under 105 grain and 9mm will be above 105 grain. There is some overlap in the middle, but you will most likely not find load data for a 147 grain used in a 380.
Old August 22, 2012, 07:11 AM   #3
Gdawgs

Like J357 said, the diameters are the same. But the weight will be lighter in 380. The problem you run into with heavier bullets is that they are longer than lighter bullets. The inside of the case tapers(metal gets thicker) the further down into the case you go. If you try to seat a heavy bullet into a 380 case, it will bulge out the case at the bottom end of the bullet. I have made some reloads using 122 grain "9mm" bullets, and they worked, but I did get a small amount of bulge. I have since moved to 90 grain bullets, and those work much better.