The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old July 25, 2012, 08:11 PM   #1
sigcurious

Concealed Carry: Clearing the Cover Garment?

What is the recommended procedure for clearing the cover garment for the draw?

My observations on this so far are that while using my weak hand to clear the garment for the draw produces consistent results. However using my strong hand thumb to hook the shirt and pull it up during the same motion as reaching for the pistol, produces less consistent results, however accounts for the factor that the weak hand may be occupied otherwise. Also that reaching with one hand is less conspicuous than reaching over with two. But I am completely new to this aspect so I am unsure as to what's what.

I am currently using between a 3:30 and 5:00 IWB holster position. Still trying to figure out what's most comfortable etc. But I would imagine that in that range the technique would be the same for getting the cover garment out of the way
Old July 25, 2012, 09:23 PM   #2
moxie

Use two hands to clear the garment. Hold the garment out of the way with your weak hand and draw with your strong hand. Once the gun is clear and on the way out, drop the garment with the weak hand and join the draw on the pistol as if there were no garment. If you only use one hand to clear the garment, there's an excellent chance your're going to get things bollixed up.

USAF Munitions 1969-1992
RVN 1972-1973
Old July 25, 2012, 09:42 PM   #3
Striker1

Are you only concerned with garments that are not open in the front?

Any chance you'll be wearing a jacket/coat?
Old July 25, 2012, 10:28 PM   #4
BillCA

First, it would help if you describe what kind of cover garment you're wearing when you carry.
* T-Shirt
* Polo Shirt
* Jersey Shirt
* Button front (Dress) shirt

Then tell us if it's tucked in or not.
Does your pistol (presuming a Sig auto) have a hammer spur?