The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 21, 2001, 07:11 PM   #1
posigian

I’m new to reloading, trying to teach myself with the help of books, videos, & lots of reading over the last 3 years, and I am now ready to get started.

I am starting with 30.06 and I have tons of brass that I have saved over the years. I need HELP understanding “Head Space” and “Case Length”. I purchased an RCBS Precision Mic and I am trying to learn how to properly use it.

When you measure the case with the headspace gauge, how far down (below ANSI spec) can I push the shoulder before its considered too much? Example: I had some that read .005 below 0 (-.005). Is the shoulder on this pushed down to far for me to use it?

The instructions state that you should measure 5 cases (once fired in my gun and will be used in mine only) before running them through the sizing die. From that you can get an average of where the shoulder should be for your rifle. However, prior measurements of my brass show most cases -.001 to -.003. That is below ANSI Specs and I am not sure how to bring it up or if I even need to?

Further more, how close to the maximum case length do I need to be? If the length falls short, how short is too short? Max length on a 30.06 is 2.494. If that is max what is the minimum length allowed before it becomes dangerous? After sizing them in the die should I trim all of the brass so that it is the same length?

I am sorry for the length on this message and do appreciate all of the help I can get. Being new to this I have a lot of “fears” and I am going real slow so that I can pay attention to detail. In fact I might be worry about too much!

Old February 21, 2001, 07:36 PM   #2
Monkeyleg