The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 31, 2015, 10:01 AM   #1
stagpanther

Pistol ladder question

I posted a thread about testing my latest homebrew 10 mm but there was no response--so I'll ask a more generic version of the same question.

Given barrel lengths of say 4 to 7.5" is it common in load development tests for pistols to exhibit similar nodes in accuracy that one might expect in rifle cartridge development? I ask because my tests were generally very wide groups but one charge came together dramatically close compared to the other ones. My intuition is that much of this might have been attributable to poor technique on my part--but it does seem a bit odd that a 5-shot group came together pretty well and then the rest opened up.
Old March 31, 2015, 10:11 AM   #2
chris in va

I'm no expert, and the other guys will give better info, but it seems logical that various powders and charges can affect accuracy. Pistols are simply shorter versions of rifles, albeit with a lot more 'slop' factors thrown in such as barrel/slide fit etc.
Old March 31, 2015, 09:31 PM   #3
Nick_C_S

I'm no expert either. So I'll just speak from my experience:

Pistols have accuracy nodes too. But I suspect (I'm not a rifle loader/shooter) the nodes are more subtle and are often obscured by other variables.

I load a lot of 38 Special and 45 ACP - so they're my best point of reference (I load a lot of 10mm these days too; but I need more data before I can speak to it). And yes, there are certain loads that "settle down" compared to the loads on either side of it and have low Standard Deviations. So the phenomenon sure seems to exist.
Old April 1, 2015, 01:09 AM   #4
stagpanther