The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Closed Thread

Old November 14, 2010, 09:51 AM   #1
andrewstorm

why do fools sell guns

i went to a local pawn shop to purchase a muzzleloader,as i asked about the smoke pole i was informed that i would have to do a ncic check,for a antique?:barf:,i am not a prohibited person,i have no criminal record,and i don't believe in gun Nazis making their own rules,as i am an american thru and thru,my uncle casmere was one of the soldiers who liberated Dachau,my grand dad ate rats to stay alive in the trenches of ww1,and i don't like any snot nosed punk who also says we don't take C&R LICENCES either,as i see this as a violation of my rights by a private enterprise,I will never deal with these nazis again,THE NAME IS (AUCTION FOR DOLLARS),OR THE CASH EXCHANGE,IN CLINTON TWNSHP MI. DID ANYONE ELSE HAVE TO DO AN NCIC CHECK FOR A MUZZELOADER?
Old November 14, 2010, 10:46 AM   #2
noelf2

Well I understand your anger, but don't confuse ignorance with being a Nazi (not that Nazi's weren't ignorant too). They probably didn't know any better, and they aren't going to take a customer's word for it. Best to just tell them their error, and if they don't check it out, their loss (of a sale). Plenty of other places to buy a muzzleloader. If you just HAD to have the one at the pawn shop, why not just go through with the NCIC check even though it's stupid and unnecessary? A good deal is a good deal no matter how ignorant the salesman.
Old November 14, 2010, 11:07 AM   #3
Ozzieman

I think I can explain why they require NCIC checks for any guns they sell with one word.
“Lawyers”
There is a pawn shop in the city I live in that won’t sell any type of weapon (other than knives) without a NCIC and there reason is liability. A friend went there to buy a cross bow for hunting deer and they required a NCIC. Not because of any law but liability, nothing more.